table for two: the farmacy

This post was supposed to be a super fancy one about an upscale, popular restaurant. But…after a decision was made to watch Divergent after dinner with a visiting friend, I decided that I wanted to watch the movie just a bit buzzed, so what was a reservation at The Fat Ham became a reservation at a BYO just 5 blocks down from home – The Farmacy.

seared chicken breast: rye & wild berry bread pudding, pork-fried brussel sprouts

seared chicken breast: rye & wild berry bread pudding, pork-fried brussel sprouts

look at all the brussel sprouts!

look at all the brussel sprouts!

mac n cheese: truffle, brioche crumbs

mac n cheese: truffle, brioche crumbs

tie-dyed salmon: smoked salmon, artisanal greens, fennel, orange, pickled red onion, brie wedge, toasted rye

tie-dyed salmon: smoked salmon, artisanal greens, fennel, orange,
pickled red onion, brie wedge, toasted rye

from the side

from the side

buttermilk fried chicken: leg & thigh, braised kale, mac n cheese

buttermilk fried chicken: leg & thigh, braised kale, mac n cheese

With a reservation of 5, the menu was extensive and appealing enough for each of us to get different entrees (except for two orders of the tie-dyed salmon, but I was so close to choosing the short rib!). The portions were a good size, and the comfort food was spot on for the small, cozy atmosphere of the restaurant. The mac n cheese was creamy, with just the right touch of brioche bread crumbs. With the other entrees, there seemed to be one thing that stood out to me in each – the brussel sprouts on the chicken breast were well cooked and seasoned, and the braised kale, which I’ve never tried before, had a slight sweet taste in my mouth (I didn’t try the fried chicken, but I bet they paired well with each other). With my tie-dyed salmon, I realized that I love smoked salmon with citrus. As I stuffed four large pieces of salmon into my mouth, each bite paired with something new on the plate (brie, toast, fennel, orange), I absolutely loved the orange and the salmon together. I’m not too big of a smoked salmon person, but moving forward, I’ll have citrus and smoked salmon any day.

My dash of salt: Decently priced, this BYO is a cute, cozy place that hasn’t been exploited by rowdy groups just yet. 3.5 out of 5. -S.

Location: University City
The Farmacy
Menu
4443 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Price: $$

Leave a comment